Distance Learning Training and Resources for Educators

Anatomy of an Online Course

course image

Being a  educator in the year 2013 is NOT anything like it was in 1987. Not only do we have to know our course content area and be able to teach it effectively. Now we have to be able to teach effectively in a whole new (cyber) environment and be able to weave seamlessly between physically seeing (teaching) our students and communicating (instructing) them totally online.

new skill sets

This takes new sets of skills and a heightened awareness of the challenges the online environment presents us. Harnessing (mastering) this instructional technology and methodology is going to make you more marketable as an educator.

There is no doubt teaching online is a challenge. You must go into it with your eyes WIDE OPEN. The first few years moving your traditional courses over to the online environment takes time and effort climbing the learning curve. There’s no getting away from this reality. The good news is…the more you teach online, the easier it gets. Once you’ve built your online courses and develop a solid grasp on how to manage and teach via the web things get progressively easier.

online teaching

There really are no shortcuts at the very beginning of this process. You have to build your courses and transition yourself and your teaching methodology over to being comfortable, proficient and effective in the online environment.

rethink


Essentially you have to totally RE-THINK how you are going to teach because what works in the traditional classroom doesn’t usually work for the online environment.

Step #1 – Gather all the course content (assignments, lectures, videos, web resources, Powerpoints, etc.) you have and begin organizing it by week. If you are teaching a 16 week semester you have to take a good hard look at your syllabus and course outline and then break (pace/distribute) the assignments, projects, assessments and learning outcomes up over a span of 14 weeks. Leave the first week for course familiarization and last week for wrap-up and exam or final projects.

blackboard vs. moodle

Step #2 – You have to become proficient with the course management system (CMS) your college is using before teaching online. That means taking workshops and taking time practicing adding content and learning the various functions and applications within the CMS (Blackboard, Moodle, WordPress, Angel, Campus Cruiser, etc.) Please note…all CMS’s do the same thing! They are online tools for delivering and assessing course content. If you can learn one CMS you can quickly learn another – it is like driving Buick vs. a Honda.

Step #3 – Once you are proficient with the tools and applications in the CMS and get all your course content loaded, organized and designed within a design scheme then you want to have someone look it over to check if the course expectations are communicated clearly. Sometime we know are material so well we just assume we are being clear when in fact we may assume too much. All course expectations, assignments, discussions and assessments must be crystal clear with no grey area.

brainstorm

Step #4 – Introspection, brainstorming and Soul Searching Time! You have to visualize (analyze) each assignment, assessment, project and course expectation then consider how you teach them in the classroom/studio and then problem solve just how you are going to deliver and assess them in the online environment. There is no one size fits all solution to this and your teaching style plays a role in how you go about it.

e-learning vs. classroom

Step #5 – Once your class is completely migrated from classroom to online its time to be baptized in fire and teach online. Best approach would be to start with a hybrid/blended course (partial online) and work your way to totally online. You are going to make mistakes and will learn from them.
Every time you teach online you will get better, more efficient and comfortable working in that environment.  Effective and efficient workfow and file management are also very important variables when teaching online. They can make or break your effectiveness and keep you from losing your mind from being inundated by student assignments, discussions, e-mails and giving viable feedback. Migrating your traditional classroom courses over to online delivery takes a great deal of thought,  rethinking and planning and should not be taken lightly.

The goal for all of us is to replicate as best we can our unique, creative and dynamic approach in the classroom into the online environment.


Comments on: "So You Want to Teach Online………" (60)

  1. WOW! Hey mannnn, great article… :)

  2. Very descriptive post, I loved that a lot.
    Will there be a part 2?

  3. Good answer back in return of this difficulty with genuine arguments and
    describing all regarding that.

  4. My relatives always say that I am wasting my time here at net, but
    I know I am getting familiarity every day by reading thes good posts.

  5. Genuinely no matter if someone doesn’t understand after that its up to other people that
    they will assist, so here it takes place.

  6. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on
    a regular basis, this website is really pleasant and the viewers are in fact sharing nice thoughts.

  7. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design
    this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from.
    thank you

  8. This is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing
    this one. A must read post!

  9. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you.

    Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

  10. I enjoy reading an article that will make people
    think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  11. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard
    time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  12. You should be a part of a contest for one of the finest sites on the internet.
    I am going to highly recommend this site!

  13. Hi there fantastic website! Does running a blog such as this
    require a great deal of work? I have virtually no expertise in coding however I was
    hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic nevertheless I just had to ask. Many thanks!

  14. Somebody necessarily assist to make severely articles I
    might state. This is the first time I frequented your
    website page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you
    made to make this actual post incredible. Excellent job!

  15. This site definitely has all of the information and
    facts I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  16. What’s up to all, because I am in fact keen of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It includes nice data.

  17. I feel that is among the such a lot vital information for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should observation on few
    normal things, The website taste is great, the articles is
    in point of fact great : D. Good activity, cheers

  18. voyager
    Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological globe all
    is existing on net?

  19. There’s no more reason to have bad wireless at your home or office.
    With the Parrot SK 4000 clamp installed there is no way it is going to fit.
    How Differ This Project To Other Running Real Estate Projects.

  20. I don’t leave many remarks, however I read a lot of comments here So
    You Want to Teach Online | E-Learning Resources.
    I actually do have some questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be only me or does it appear like a few of the responses come
    across as if they are written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional sites, I’d like to keep up with everything
    new you have to post. Would you post a list of
    all of your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
    or twitter feed?

  21. The funniest part of the book for me was where Labro described American men as falling into two camps:
    those who could crush beer cans with one hand and
    those who could not.  A tout événement tapis rouge vous êtes en mesure d’assister à des célébrités marchant vers le bas avec des Vanessa bruno pas cher de créateurs inestimables.
    plique montres sont parfaites.

  22. She is happy to stay in her Bjorn looking out at the world around her
    for long periods and I can comfortably carry her for hours.

    You will find Senior Scribe Schuler in Central Mountains in Hidden Valley.
    ‘This package is perfect for a multitude of travelers, from
    lifelong Lakers fans to a couple looking to experience an excellent sporting event in an exciting
    environment.

  23. Among these misadventures, let us quote Music 4BF (1966-67), there is nowadays a version for Macintosh (Music
    4C, 1989), and especially Music 360 of Barry Vercoe (1968); this descendant of Music
    IV has as a characteristic to be presented in the form of a true programming language,
    which undoubtedly explains why it became today with C-Music
    the acoustic compiler more used. We tend to take care of almost all body parts with great enthusiasm but tend to leave the skin to the care of soap water and some creams available in
    the market. leblanc s’investit parmi de nos dénouements inventive, née du professionnalisme de l’équipe Bosch.

  24. Greetings! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same topics? Appreciate it!

  25. poussoirs ressort
    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to mention that I have really loved browsing your
    blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once
    more soon!
    Fabriquant de poussoirs à ressorts industriels

  26. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical points using this
    site, as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not
    that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect
    your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  27. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back often!

  28. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and
    starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work
    on. You have done a marvellous job!

  29. which is well cushioned and allow their customers to sit for
    hours while enjoying smoking molasses together. I am passionate
    about sound, and am a collector of noise canceling headphones.
    After I first got the earphones I switched out the ear buds
    until I found a perfect fit for my ears.

  30. When some one searches for his essential thing, thus he/she wishes to be available that in
    detail, so that thing is maintained over
    here.

  31. hello!,I really like your writing so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more approximately your article on
    AOL? I need an expert in this area to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you!
    Taking a look forward to see you.

  32. The Whirlpool Whispure True HEPA Portable Tower Air Purifier with VOC Sensing, $179.
    Hopefully, the tips in this home improvement article are
    useful to you. It includes an ergonomic grip which allows for an easy handling of the vacuum cleaner.

  33. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward
    to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  34. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible.

    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a
    terrific website.

  35. Thanks for every other excellent post. Where else may just anybody get that type of information in such a perfect means of writing?

    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

  36. Everything is very open with a clear description of the challenges.

    It was really informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  37. M-Audio products are renowned for their ability to interface
    with all the different software audio creation tools easily and efficiently.
    Don’t be tempted to take the first free piano you find on
    Craig’s List. Susie, a good friend of Oskar,
    is a Mac user and she finds the right drivers she needs on the
    same websites.

  38. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon
    your weblog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment and even I success you get admission to constantly quickly.

  39. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with
    the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one
    these days.

  40. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case
    you shield this increase.

  41. Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if
    you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from
    someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  42. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am actually impressed to
    read everthing at alone place.

  43. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and
    starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  44. Your video descriptions and titles should be keyword optimized so
    that people can find them. Purchasing comments is a great idea because they
    will help you attract a larger audience to your You – Tube videos.
    Download subway maps from 24 major cities across the
    globe from i – Subway – Maps.

  45. Hi friends, its impressive post regarding educationand
    fully explained, keep it up all the time.

  46. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  47. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your
    site. It appears as if some of the text within your
    posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else
    please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?

    This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

  48. Asking questions are truly pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything fully, but this article provides pleasant understanding even.

  49. Hackers or crackers can locate these unprotected computers easily using routine port scans.
    Inflation of prices in Japanese cosmetics of small and medium-sized cosmetic enterprises causes consumers to start to hold back supplies.
    People may feel tired and the things they do may not be satisfying.
    Intestinal peristalsis is the quickest when people
    eat foods with empty stomach. The craftsmen use these materials at great prices and
    do not be surprised if shortages occur. And dads take care of new mom and baby,
    his hand is easy to carry disease germs. The frequently question asked while people
    purchase Dofus kamas is how can I ensure my account safety.
    Other hygienic products can be thrown into plastic bags and taken into trash
    can outside. This doesn’t mean boys now do not have a temper,
    and their character has no sharp angle. 4: Mighty Fin: bully
    dofus kamas hack i – Phone backs the time, and its draw mode
    sounds equaled seemingly e’er set cheeseparing themaximum bulk degrees.
    You can also use some of the places that are used for people
    searches as they also carry files and records that have people profiles.
    However, do you know the right places to set air purifiers.
    Two professions that you can’t take unless you pay
    to play are the alchemist and the tailor, although
    I’ve heard of people getting tailoring by spending 30,000 Kama’s,
    or gold pieces, buying the tailoring book from someone who did pay to play.
    Since Roman times began, white symbolizes celebration. If you do, chocolates are the necessary enjoyment for
    you. The right way to apply eye cream is
    to nourish the lower eyelids skin and compact upper eyelid skins.
    If you have interests in our products, please visit our
    website and you will find what you want. Played the game, you will
    know that gold in the game had important, also in the
    game had the same part, so in the beginning, I always spend money to bought, but when I in the game had the group, we always together to
    do the task, we all know that Unity is strength. More than 95 percent of postgraduates are anxious for their job after graduation.
    The person’s work associates and colleagues are other
    possible sources of info that you can use. We called it Kat Vigny
    Town, also called Mo Nai Town. And it is more likely that women wear their slippers, wear
    pajamas lines, dishevel hair, eat melon seeds, and slant on the sofa
    to watch TV, especially the time after newlywed passion.
    Dofus is another popular free MMORPG, and it’s unusual for at least two reasons:
    Its turn-based, tactics-style gameplay, like Suidoken
    or Final Fantasy Tactics, and the fact that it runs
    on Adobe AIR. If you are still worry about where to make
    money in the real world and want to find satisfaction in online games, you can go to find some gold at cabal alz and dofus kamas to make yourself peaceful in mind.
    The entire old city is filled with the aroma of baked apple,
    a variety of nuts, ginger biscuits and hot wine.

  50. Hi there mates, how is everything, and what you wish for to
    say on the topic of this paragraph, in my view its
    really amazing for me.

  51. com, at the bottom of the website there is a
    link to their weekly sales catalogs, here you will find any coupons and be able to
    see if there is an additional off on clearance.
    The star pass is grand primarily because there’s not many plays in sports-dom that can combine both the desperation
    of a Hail Mary pass with top-dogging’s innate egotism.
    Mo – Minis is proud to present – “The Funky Chicken Who Thought He Was a Ninja. Lodge on the Desert Restaurant is located at: 306 N. Sale (6-3, 300) had committed to ASU, but the firing of Dennis Erickson and his staff made him look elsewhere. They are serving a Mother’s Day Brunch from 9:30 A. Later it was revealed that Parcells had numerous phone conversations with the Jets brass from the Patriots Hotel in New Orleans, site of the game.

  52. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to
    work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  53. Pretty! This has been aan extremely wonderful post. Thank you for supplying this information.

  54. Everything beyond this is usurpation, and a violation of the Constitution. Bob
    the Builder: The Knights Of Fix-A-Lot (2002)Bob the Builder is called on to fix
    up an old castle — and must come to the rescue when his father mistakenly tries to do the job.
    You wereworried about something and distracted, and you
    willbe more careful. James and the Giant Peach
    - Here’s another stop-motion animation great, and another strange story featuring
    giant bugs inside a giant fruit that functions as both food and a
    rolling roof over their head. Guest investigators explain the histories of various hauntings.
    Whether or not one believes abortion is “right”
    or “wrong” is irrelevant. Valens, however, waved
    aside their attempts at peace, and pushed into battle without waiting for reinforcements under the Western Emperor Gratian.

  55. A positive pressure is maintained inside the engine room most of the time by running the engine room blowers.
    The bottom is often a rolling two-tone green barbershop pole; the pipes are from Super Mario Bros.
    You just need access to the right type of suggestions that can get you to
    the higher levels of thе game.

  56. It’s certainly not a turn-based equivalent of Demon’s Souls, but it definitely has at least a fraction of that
    old-school difficulty some of us know and love.
    Here you have two options – either buy a complete touch screen, or use
    a normal LCD screen and purchase a touch screen interface.
    This is easy; all you need to do is to prepare
    well for the exam.

  57. Move to the edge and press R1 to do an Indiana Jones move
    and swing to the other side. However, the game becomes rewarding as a player
    learns to play champions that he or she likes.

    If you do not like to invest too many stats point on the Str or Dex, you can rely on the
    charm or equipment that give additional attributes.
    Before it falls back down climb up and use the fleece on the other eye.
    Give it a whack to make it move back and forth and push
    the lever to bring it back up. There are many reasons why this game is highly addicting:.
    Lv1 Decrepify (For any tough and speedster enemies and bosses).

  58. Water them daily with just enough water to dampen the soil.
    Well, surprise or no real shock, they gain muscles using performance enhancing meds.
    The couple really liked the concept of a dark finish especially since the linoleum
    countertop was lighter and was not going to be replaced.

  59. Due with their intelligent and active nature they must also provide toys in the cage.
    He worked being a reserve officer for the Cape Carteret Police Department beginning in 1985 and joined the
    Carteret County Sheriff’s Department soon after retiring. While isolated rural living is peaceful,
    far from traffic and noise, it may feel less than peaceful in case you are worried about how to make an off-grid or rural home safe from break-ins.

  60. Push the vase forward a lil to produce the elevator.
    The shield will refresh after a short time without taking damage.
    Now goes on cooldown if this finishes casting, instead of when it begins
    casting If Nami dies while casting Tidal Wave, it is going to will no
    longer go on cooldown.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

